(514) 360-0760  info@wayakan.com

GIC: The Illusion of a Guaranteed Return

Nine years after the financial crisis, many investors remain hesitant to get back in the stock market. While the shock was indeed major, many funds ended up recovering their losses within a year later.

What happened then, as the crisis was unfolding, was that major banks and institutions unwinded their marketing powerhouse to benefit from people’s fear. Knowing that a big recovery was on its way, and with historically-low interest rates, their positioned themselves to cash in on it using their clients’ money. And it worked! Based on a 2017 report from l’Institut de la Statistique du Québec, the total value of bank deposits and GICs increased of 60% between 2006 and 2015, despite plummeting interest rates. On the other hand, stocks markets have been sensational since the crisis, having almost doubled in Canada (S&P/TSX) and tripled in the United-Stated (S&P 500).

Imagine a financial institution offering GICs with 1,5% annual interest rate during this period (which is higher than most on the market), who used the money received to invest in its own Canadian or American mutual funds, many of which have yielded over 200% between 2009 and 2017, or 15% per year. A 15% return on a 1,5% interest payment to the client represents a yearly return on investment of 1000% for the bank… and it did not even invest its own money!

The investor, on the other hand, received a modest 1,5% interest payment, which is 100% taxable. At a 50% marginal tax rate, his net annual return has been 0,75%. Now, between 2009 and 2017, the value of money fell 13,78% for an average yearly inflation rate of 1,63% (based on Bank of Canada’s CPI reports). So while the bank was enjoying 1000% yearly returns, the investor actually lost 0,88% per year.

When all facts are taken into consideration, the main guarantee provided by a GIC is that your portfolio will lose some of its real value every year. Given all the efforts and sacrifices it took for you to build your portfolio, don’t let its value erode through time while banks and institutions make money out of it. There are better way to generate returns while protecting your capital, such as our Guaranteed PortfolioMC. For more information, contact a member of our team.

(514) 360-0760  info@wayakan.com

Le CPG: l’illusion d’un rendement garanti

Encore aujourd’hui, de nombreux investisseurs demeurent frileux à l’idée d’investir sur les marchés. Il va s’en dire que plusieurs n’ont pas digéré la crise de 2008 et ce, même si de nombreux fonds avaient récupéré la totalité de leurs pertes à peine un an plus tard. 

En fait, la machine marketing de plusieurs institutions majeures s’est mise en marche pour profiter de la crainte des investisseurs. Avec les taux d’intérêts qui sont descendus à un plancher historique au Canada, l’appât du gain était immense: profiter de la relance des marchés à même l’argent des investisseurs. Et c’est ce qui s’est produit. Selon un rapport de l’Institut de la Statistique du Québec, la valeur des dépôts et certificats de placement garantis au Québec a augmenté de près de 60% entre 2006 et 2015, malgré une diminution majeure des taux d’intérêts. À l’inverse, les marchés ont été sensationnels depuis le creux de la crise, où le S&P/TSX (Canada) a presque doublé et le S&P 500 (États-Unis), triplé.

Pour une institution ayant offert 1,5% d’intérêt annuel sur un CPG (supérieur à la plupart des CPGs sur le marché), pour ensuite investir la somme dans ses fonds mutuels américains maisons (plusieurs ont enregistré un rendement supérieur à 200% entre 2009 et 2017, soit 15% par année), elle a réellement obtenu un rendement annuel moyen de 1000%, sur de l’argent emprunté à ses clients.

L’investisseur, quant à lui, s’est contenté de 1,5% d’intérêt annuel imposable à 100%. À un taux d’imposition marginal de 50%, son rendement annuel net aura été de 0,75%. Entre 2009 et 2017, la valeur de l’argent a diminué de 13,78%, pour un taux d’inflation annuel moyen de 1,63% (données fournies par la Banque du Canada). Il va dont s’en dire qu’alors que l’institution profitait de rendements annuels de 1000%, l’investisseur perdait 0,88% par année.

En conclusion, la principale garantie qu’offre un CPG est de voir son portefeuille perdre de la valeur réelle à chaque année, une fois que tous les éléments ont été pris en considération. Par respect pour les efforts qui ont mené à la constitution de votre patrimoine, ne le laissez pas s’éroder année après année au profit des grandes institutions. Il existe plusieurs options pour obtenir du rendement tout en protégeant votre capital, tel que notre Portefeuille GarantiMC. Pour plus d’information, consultez un membre de notre équipe.