(514) 360-0760  info@wayakan.com

Let’s Understand Life Insurance!

Gestion de patrimoine Wayakan Wealth Management

No! Life insurance is not the same as home or car insurance.

Yet, most of us will base our decision on price when shopping for life insurance. This logic works wonders when protecting your home or car, but not when it comes to people. To begin with, few actually know how to differentiate the three types of life insurance.

Term Life Insurance

Usually offered in 10, 20 or 30 years terms, term insurance works pretty much like your car insurance: you pay each year in case something happens. Once the term is over you can most certainly renew your protection (at a higher premium), but the money you paid is gone forever.

Permanent Life Insurance

Getting permanent insurance (instead of term) is similar to buying a house (instead of renting). The amount of each premium and the number of payments are fixed and defined by contract. Some products even pay out dividends to the owner in the form of participations.

One could therefore invest in a permanent life insurance over 10 or 20 years, after which the policy is paid for and will stay active over his lifetime, therefore providing a tax shelter for all future participations.

However, all permanent insurances are not participating and rates of return vary from one company to another! It is essential to look beyond premiums and assess what is the real return on your investment.

Universal Life Insurance

Universal insurance basically works like a house with a basement, where the ground floor is the insurance component and the basement is a room in which you can hide investments.  While you are paying your premiums, this type of insurance allows you to make extra contributions within the policy.

Why would one pay extra for his insurance? Because surpluses can be invested through distinct funds in a tax-sheltered environment. While returns are more volatile, universal insurance offers increased flexibility in regards to contributions and investment portfolios.

Universal insurance can therefore serve as a second TFSA and, for a company owner, as a way to avoid the 51% tax on investment revenues.

Which is best?

It really depends on each and everyone’s situation. The cheapest, in terms of premiums, is term insurance. This being said, it is nothing more than an expense.

When integrating permanent insurance in a wealth management plan, it definitely acts as an investment rather than an expense, and offers protection to one’s family or business associates. However, premiums will be higher than term insurance for the same coverage.

Last but not least, universal insurance is very interesting. The premiums can be similar to term’s, while offering a tax-shelter for investments.

Which one should you choose?

Now this is the question! However, it is a question better answered over a cup of coffee than on a blog. If this is something you are pondering over, you might want to act sooner than later. Tax rules regarding life insurance will change at the end of the year and, as you might expect, it will be in the government’s favour. Till next time!

(514) 360-0760  info@wayakan.com

Démystifions l’assurance vie!

Gestion de patrimoine Wayakan Wealth Management

Non! L’assurance vie ne fonctionne pas comme une assurance auto ou habitation.

Pourtant, lorsqu’on magasine une police d’assurance vie, on a tendance à comparer les prix de 2 ou 3 compagnies et bien souvent opter pour la moins chère. Cette logique prend tout son sens lorsque l’on veut assurer une auto ou une maison, mais pas une personne. Voyez-vous, il existe trois types distincts d’assurance vie.

Assurance vie temporaire

L’assurance vie temporaire (10, 20 ou 30 ans) fonctionne plus ou moins comme une assurance auto: on paie une prime à chaque année au cas où il nous arriverait quelque chose. Si aucun imprévu ne survient au bout de ces 10, 20 ou 30 années, nous avons certes la possibilité de la renouveler (en payant une prime supérieure), mais les sommes payées jusqu’à ce jour seront perdues à jamais.

Assurance vie permanente

L’assurance vie permanente se rapproche davantage d’un bien immobilier (telle une maison à revenu) que de l’assurance comme on la connaît. Le montant de la prime est fixe, le nombre de paiements est garanti par contrat et on peut même obtenir des rendements sur les sommes qui y sont investies.

On peut donc investir dans une police pendant 10 ou 20 ans, après quoi elle est considérée comme payée et restera active la vie durant, pouvant même verser des dividendes (appelés participations) qui s’accumuleront à l’abris de l’impôt au sein de la police ou seront payés au propriétaire

Attention! Toutes les assurances vie permanentes ne sont pas participatives et le taux de participation varie d’une compagnie à l’autre. Il est donc primordial de regarder au-delà du prix et de calculer le rendement après impôt.

Assurance vie universelle

L’assurance vie universelle offre un compromis entre la temporaire et la permanente. Le fonctionnement s’apparente à celui de l’assurance temporaire, mais avec la possibilité de faire des cotisations supplémentaires au sein de la police.

Pourquoi voudrait-on payer d’avantage pour la même protection? Pour garder plus d’argent dans nos poches! Tout comme l’assurance vie permanente, l’universelle permet l’accumulation de rendements à l’abris de l’impôt. Les sommes excédentaires peuvent donc être investies dans des fonds distincts à l’intérieur de la police, pour être ensuite retirées ou léguées à nos bénéficiaires.

L’assurance vie universelle peut en quelque sorte servir de deuxième CELI ou, pour les propriétaires de compagnie, permettre d’éviter cet impôt de 51% sur les revenus de placement.

Quelle est la meilleure?

Cela dépend vraiment de la situation de chacun. La moins chère, au sens des primes à payer, est l’assurance temporaire. Cela dit, il s’agit strictement d’une dépense.

Lorsqu’on regarde l’assurance vie permanente et qu’on l’intègre dans un plan de gestion de patrimoine, elle agit davantage comme un investissement qu’une dépense, tout en offrant une protection d’assurance. Le montant des primes sera toutefois supérieur pour la même protection.

Finalement, l’assurance universelle est elle aussi très intéressante. Les primes peuvent se rapprocher de l’assurance temporaire, tout en permettant d’investir à l’abris de l’impôt avec plus de flexibilité que l’assurance permanente.

Laquelle choisir?

Telle est la question! Une question qui se répond davantage après une bonne discussion autour d’un café que sur un blogue. Cela dit, les règles fiscales en rapport à l’assurance changeront à la faveur du gouvernement à la fin de l’année… De quoi faire de la place dans son horaire plus tôt que tard!