(514) 360-0760  info@wayakan.com

Dear Parents, What Do You Know About the RESP?

Do you have a RRSP? Great! TFSA as well? Even better! But how about the RESP? The Registered Education Savings Plan is often left aside by parents which unfortunately do not fully understand how it works.

When used properly however, the RESP is probably the most advantageous account there is. Before we dig deeper into why that is, let’s review the specifications of each account:

Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP)

Probably the most famous registered account, the RRSP is appealing because of its short term benefits. Every amount deposited is deducted from your revenues and will result in a tax return at the end of the year. However, most people fail to realize that not only will these funds will be taxed upon withdrawal, but they will be taxed as salary. This means that all the accrued dividends and capital gains (which normally benefit from a favourable tax treatment) will lose all tax advantage. Therefore, the RRSP does not reduce but postpones your taxes.

Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA)

The TFSA allows for investment returns to be accumulated within the account without ever being taxed, not even upon withdrawal (which can be anytime, the funds remain accessible). This being said, contributions will not be deducted from revenues either, which might make it less appealing from a short-term perspective. On the long-term however, it can be extremely beneficial when used for dynamic investments.

Registered Education Savings Plan (RESP)

So what about the RESP? It works pretty much like a TFSA, but is intended to finance the childen’s post-secondary education. Contributions will therefore not be available until at least one kid reaches the post-secondary level; however, governments will match 30% of all contributions up to a yearly maximum of 2 500$.

You therefore end up receiving a 30% grant from the governments, much similar to what the tax return on a RRSP contribution would have been, with the difference that you will not be taxed upon withdrawal. For families with more than one child, the yearly maximum is increased proportionally to the number of children.

Unsure of where you stand? Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions, concerns or desires. Till next time!

(514) 360-0760  info@wayakan.com

Chers parents, connaissez-vous le REEE?

Vous détenez un REER? Très bien. Un CELI aussi? Merveilleux! Mais qu’en est-il du REEE? Le Régime Enregistré d’Épargne Études est souvent laissé de côté par les parents qui, malheureusement, ne le comprennent pas totalement.

Pourtant dans bien des cas, le REEE est plus avantageux que les deux autres types de comptes enregistrés. Prenons le temps de nous rafraîchir la mémoire sur les particularités de chaque compte:

Régime Enregistré d’Épargne Retraite (REER)

Le REER est probablement le plus connu des comptes enregistrés, étant donné qu’il semble être le plus avantageux à court terme. C’est simple à prime abord: l’argent qu’on y dépose à chaque année est déduit de notre salaire, ce qui nous permet de recevoir un retour d’impôt. Toutefois, les sommes seront imposées comme un salaire au moment du retrait des fonds. Il va donc s’en dire que les rendements sous forme de dividendes et de gains en capitaux, qui sont normalement moins imposés que les revenus d’emploi, perdront tout avantage à la sortie. Le REER ne réduit donc pas l’impôt à payer, il ne fait que le reporter.

Compte d’Épargne Libre d’Impôt (CELI)

Le CELI permet l’accumulation de capital à l’abris de l’impôt. Les sommes déposées ne seront pas soustraites du salaire annuel, ce qui peut le rendre moins intéressant à court terme. Cela dit, l’argent reste disponible en tout temps et les rendements ne seront jamais imposés. Il est donc particulièrement intéressant d’y placer nos investissements les plus dynamiques.

Régime Enregistré d’Épargne Études (REEE)

Le REEE maintenant? Il fonctionne en grande partie comme le CELI, mais est destiné au financement des études post-secondaires des enfants. Les sommes déposées ne seront donc pas disponibles jusqu’à ce que les enfants entament l’école professionnelle ou le CÉGEP. Toutefois, les gouvernements majorent chaque contribution parentale annuelle de 30%, jusqu’à concurrence de 2 500$.

Concrètement, les contributions au REEE seront donc majorées de 30% par les gouvernements, ce qui s’approche ou même dépasse le retour d’impôt obtenu par une contribution REER, à la différence que les montants ne seront pas imposés au retrait. De plus, il est possible de récupérer les cotisations non utilisées à l’année précédente et pour toute famille de plus d’un enfant, le plafond de contributions est augmenté proportionnellement au nombre d’enfants.

Certains détails vous échappent? N’hésitez pas à nous contacter avec toute question, préoccupation ou désir qui vous habite. À la prochaine!